Chairman names committee chairs

May 7, 2016

Party Chairman Tuckerman Babcock announced the following officers and chairs of standing committees of the Alaska Republican Party. The appointments were voted on by the members of the State Central Committee on April 30, 2016:

Parliamentarian (non-voting)      Peter Giessel
State Treasurer                          Julie Tisdale
State Assistant Treasurer            Misty Steed
Legal Counsel (non-voting)         Stacey Stone Semmler
State Finance Chair                    Paulette Simpson
SCC Standing Committees 
Campaign                                   Chris Nelson, Chair
Finance                                       Thomas "John" Nelson, Chair
Targeting                                    Senator Mia Costello, Chair
Legislative                                   Elijah Verhagen, Chair
Communications                          Frank McQueary, Chair
Rules                                          Elyce Santerre, Chair

Statement on Cruz suspension

May 3, 2016

Anchorage, Alaska – Alaska Republican Party Chairman Tuckerman Babcock issued the following statement regarding Sen. Ted Cruz’ suspension of his presidential bid.

Read more

Winter cruise through Panama - book now!

Summer is almost here. That means it's time to book your winter travel plans. Come along with us, your Alaska Republican friends, as we cruise Mexico, Nicaragua, Guatemala, Panama, the Bahamas, and have the time of our lives. It's always a great trip when you cruise with your fellow conservatives -- such as Alaska Republican Party Chairman Tuckerman (and Kristie) Babcock, and Communications Director Suzanne Downing. It's all for the Governor's Fund, to elect our next Republican governor in Alaska... But it's also all for the fun of it!



Read more

GOP delegates chosen to represent Alaska in Cleveland

May 2, 2016

Fairbanks, Alaska – The Alaska Republican Party Convention on Saturday approved the following slate of delegates to the Republican National Convention in Cleveland in mid-July.

“We have great depth in diversity and geography represented in our delegation, and I’m very proud of our nomination committee for the hard work and outstanding results,” said Party Chairman Tuckerman Babcock. “Alaska Republicans will be well-represented in Cleveland and we honored the wishes of the voters in the Presidential Preference Poll.”


They are as follows, (with home towns):

Read more

Officers elected; Tuckerman Babcock takes chairmanship


Fairbanks, Alaska – The Alaska Republican Party Convention voted in a new party chairman on April 30, 2016: Tuckerman Babcock, a resident of the Kenai Peninsula. Vice Chairman is Rick Whitbeck of Anchorage.

Mr. Babcock has more than 30 years of experience growing the Republican Party. He served briefly as state chairman in 2000, and has served as a precinct officer, district chairman, bonus vote, and state vice chairman.

He was the state co-chair of 1996 Bob Dole presidential campaign in Alaska, was executive director of the governor’s Reapportionment Board during the 1990s and was special assistant of constituent relations and director of Boards and Commissions for Gov. Walter Hickel. He has been an Alaskan since 1996 and has lived in Ketchikan, Juneau, Anchorage, Wasilla, Bethel, Unalaska, and Kenai/Soldotna. 

Rick Whitbeck of Anchorage District 25 is Vice Chair, Edna DeVries of Palmer District 11 is Secretary, and Ernest Hurst of Anchorage District 16 is Assistant Secretary.

Chairman Peter S. Goldberg will move into the position of national committeeman and Cynthia Henry will continue in her position of national committeewoman.

The convention removed the “legacy rule,” which created a delay during which the current chair, Peter S. Goldberg, would serve until the end of January, 2017. The change meant that Mr. Babcock became chairman immediately.

Some 366 credentialed delegates convened the state convention on Friday and closed out business on Saturday afternoon.


HB 379 would freeze state government wages until oil prices rise


The Alaska Legislature's House Finance Committee will take public testimony today, April 21, 2016, at 8:30 am on House Bill 379, pertaining to a state employee wage freeze (until oil hits $80 a barrel) for about 12,000 of the 17,000 state workers. 

Opponents have called this a "statement bill," or a bill that is going nowhere, but is meant to send a message.
Other Alaskans are speaking up to say that in a time of crisis, when thousands of Alaskans have lost their private sector jobs, the governor must do more to contain costs.

Rather than begin by laying off thousands of state workers, the governor has the ability to freeze wages, and help avoid crashing the economy. Alaskans would like to know where their lawmakers stand on a temporary state employee wage freeze.

Details on the hearing can be found here.





Fair? Private sector emptying pockets for government raises


House Bill 379 would freeze state worker salaries until the price of oil rises above $90 a barrel. Oil is currently trading at $42. Earlier this year, Governor Bill Walker introduced an income tax -- the first in 36 years in Alaska. He called for a state hiring freeze, but critics have pointed out that only 90 state jobs, filled by actual workers, have been eliminated, and hundreds of state jobs have escaped the hiring freeze. Meanwhile, the step-and-merit increases are the most generous in the country.

As the State of Alaska is burning through its savings at the rate of $400,000 an hour. According to the Alaska Chamber of Commerce, automatic state raises cost the budget $70 million a year.

Find your legislator here, and send your thoughts.


Chairman Goldberg at RNC spring meeting, attending Rules Committee

April 18, 2016

HOLLYWOOD, FLORIDA – Alaska Republican Party Chairman Peter S. Goldberg and National Committeewoman Cynthia Henry, are in Florida this week for the Republican National Committee’s spring meeting. The RNC has three meetings each year.

Front and center at the gathering is expected conversation in the Standing Committee on Rules, where Goldberg will represent the Alaska Republican Party. 

The Rules Committee has influence on how the GOP’s July Convention will be conducted. 

Read more

Cost drivers - automatic wage increases - must be addressed

CAUTION, BUDGET CURVES AHEAD: The Governor's individual income tax plan focuses on more money for a bigger government. With thousands leaving the state due to lost jobs in the private sector, the "new rich" in Alaska is anyone with a government paycheck. Click here for State payroll details, and tip your server over at Alaska Policy Forum.

Read more

Alaska Republicans thank Senator Stoltze for service

April 13, 2016

ANCHORAGE - The Alaska Republican Party extends its sincere gratitude to Sen. Bill Stoltze, who announced today that he plans to retire. 

Sen. Stoltz worked as a legislative aide for 20 years before being elected six times to state office -- to House District 16 in 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010 and 2012, and then as a senator for District F in 2014. He is known for his hard work, excellent legislating abilities, responsiveness to constituents, and his devotion to student athletics in his district. 

“Anyone who knows Sen. Stoltze is aware that he is one of the hardest working and most effective legislators, and his presence will be sorely missed. I believe he’ll continue to work in community service back in the district and in other capacities,” said Chairman Peter S. Goldberg of the Alaska Republican Party.

Volunteer Contribute