Officers elected; Tuckerman Babcock takes chairmanship


Fairbanks, Alaska – The Alaska Republican Party Convention voted in a new party chairman on April 30, 2016: Tuckerman Babcock, a resident of the Kenai Peninsula. Vice Chairman is Rick Whitbeck of Anchorage.

Mr. Babcock has more than 30 years of experience growing the Republican Party. He served briefly as state chairman in 2000, and has served as a precinct officer, district chairman, bonus vote, and state vice chairman.

He was the state co-chair of 1996 Bob Dole presidential campaign in Alaska, was executive director of the governor’s Reapportionment Board during the 1990s and was special assistant of constituent relations and director of Boards and Commissions for Gov. Walter Hickel. He has been an Alaskan since 1996 and has lived in Ketchikan, Juneau, Anchorage, Wasilla, Bethel, Unalaska, and Kenai/Soldotna. 

Rick Whitbeck of Anchorage District 25 is Vice Chair, Edna DeVries of Palmer District 11 is Secretary, and Ernest Hurst of Anchorage District 16 is Assistant Secretary.

Chairman Peter S. Goldberg will move into the position of national committeeman and Cynthia Henry will continue in her position of national committeewoman.

The convention removed the “legacy rule,” which created a delay during which the current chair, Peter S. Goldberg, would serve until the end of January, 2017. The change meant that Mr. Babcock became chairman immediately.

Some 366 credentialed delegates convened the state convention on Friday and closed out business on Saturday afternoon.


Volunteer Contribute